Web links

The following links may be of interest.

National
The National Fruit Collection (formerly Brogdale) www.nationalfruitcollection.org.uk/

Wisley RHS – large orchards of old varieties www.rhs.org.uk

The National Orchard Forum www.nat-orchard-forum.org.uk - being replaced by
        the Orchard Network www.orchardnetwork.org.uk

Common Ground – champions local diversity www.commonground.org.uk

Peoples' Trust for Endangered Species: Traditional Orchards, a guide to Wildlife and Management www.ptes.org/files/712_orchard_guide_edition2.pdf

Natural England www.naturalengland.org.uk , especially their guidance on traditional orchards


Northern
South Lakes Orchard Group (our sister organisation in the south of the county) www.slorchards.co.uk

Northern Fruit Group www.northernfruitgroup.com

Acorn Bank, Temple Sowerby www.nationaltrust.org.uk/main/w-acornbankgardenandwatermill

Growing Well, Sizergh www.growingwell.co.uk

Lancashire Apples Project www.lancscc.gov.uk

Westmorland Damson Association www.lythdamsons.org.uk/

Cheshire Biodiversity www.cheshire-biodiversity.org.uk/action-plans/listing.php?id=23

Some other regional groups 

Central Core Network Scotland and Tayside Biodiversity Partnerships www.taysidebiodiversity.co.uk

East of England Apples and Orchards Project www.applesandorchards.org.uk

Gloucestershire Orchard Group www.gloucestershireorchardgroup.org.uk

Marcher Apple Network www.marcherapple.net

Nurseries

Frank Matthews, Tenbury Wells, Gloucestershire: www.frankpmatthews.com/growers.htm

RV Rogers of Pickering: www.rvroger.co.uk (10% discount available for members on giving their membership number)

Orange Pippin: www.orangepippintrees.co.uk

Tweed Valley Fruit Trees: www.tweedvalleyfruittrees.com (specialist in northern & Scottish varieties)

Others

The Cider Workshop - intructions on making cider and pasteurising juice.

Slow Food UK www.slowfood.org.uk

Mistletoe www.mistletoe.org.uk

Austrian scythes (for mowing the orchard grass) and courses

The Wittenham Hill Cider Pages www.cider.org.uk/frameset.htm

Management of Traditional Orchards - Environmental Stewardship Guidance 033 http://naturalengland.etraderstores.com/NaturalEnglandShop/TIN012

There is a very important section on perry pears and their maturation and milling on this web site. The links section has lots of general orchard apple cider info homepage.ntlworld.com/scrumpy/cider/homepage.htm

Vigo: Suppliers of apple presses, cider presses, fruit presses, crushers and mills www.vigopresses.co.uk

Information sheets

Information sheets on various topics are available for download. Please click on the links below.

General information on NCOG

Recommended apples for Cumbria

How not to grow fruit trees (the webmaster's tale of woe so that you can avoid the same mistakes)

Why graft? - Information about the purpose of grafting and different apple rootstocks

Grafting - How to do whip and tongue grafts on apple trees

Care of the newly grafted tree

Apple tree pruning - for bush form

How to build an apple press - Build a sturdy and efficient press for well under half the price it would cost to buy one

Research and articles

In 1997 a survey of orchards in two North Cumbrian parishes was carried out - see The Cumbria Apple Project web pages for full details (or download the original document as a pdf file here, but be aware that the file is 25mb). Please note that the Cumbria Apple Project materials remains the property of the original authors, Nick Hirst and Peter Emsley.

Videos

T-budding and chip budding: http://blip.tv/file/346153/

Stephen Hayes' YouTube - an excellent selection of videos including many on pruning, grafting etc.

Books

The Northern Pomona. Editor: Linden Hawthorne.
ISBN 978-0-9556653-0-1
An excellent book on northern apple varieties with beautiful watercolour plates and lots of recipes too.

The Apple Book. Author: Rosie Sanders.
ISBN 978-0-7112-3141-2
The definitive modern illustrated guide to English (and some international) apple varieties. Possibly the best illustrations for identification puposes.

The Fruit Garden Displayed. Author: Harry Baker.
ISBN 0-304-34016-2
The authoritative text on fruit growing. Currently out of print but numerous old editions are available second-hand.

The Apple Grower. Author: Michael Phillips.
ISBN 1-931498-91-1
A book from the US for apple-growing enthusiasts, particularly with reference to organic orchards. Some of the information is (East Coast) US-specific, but there is much of value.

Real Cidermaking. Authors: Micahel Pooley & John Lomax.
ISBN 1-85486-495-6
A great introduction to cider-making, including information for making your own press.

Craft Cider Making. Author: Andrew Lea.
ISBN 978-1-904871-37-8
Another excellent guide from a technical expert who spent 13 years at the Long Ashton Reserarch Station (for the National Fruit and Cider Institute).

Recent forum posts

Blossom Survey 2014 by MarkEvens
New cider manual by MarkEvens
Committee Meeting May 1st, 2014 by MarkEvens
Cider tasting and discussion by MarkEvens
[Other] Blossom Day at Acorn Bank, May 10th by MarkEvens

 
 
cron